Digital Scouts for Digital Literacy

Pip Coburn of Coburn Ventures opines in his columen for Always On about the need for “being prepared” to handle any contingency in the digital age. 

 This is the Digital World and I am not a Native. I am in little position to “prepare” my eight-year-olds, but rather they will soon teach me—I hope.

I’m not sure yet how to effectively organize the Digital Scouts of the Planet, and I am probably too old even for that task, but I do know that if we want to be prepared, we gotta stop rubbing sticks together and start thinking about fixing our BlackBerrys on the fly.

Using kids to teach the adults is not a new idea.  However, systemattically using kids to achieve digital literacy is a new idea. 

Leave a comment

Filed under literacy, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

